Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

axle u joints help fast!

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by screamer*145, Sep 28, 2004.

1. screamer*145

screamer*145 1/2 ton status

i just got 3/4 ton gear /forums/images/graemlins/woot.gif but the u-joints are bad and i cant seem to get them out of the axle yokes yes i pulled the clips or most of them anyways they are really rusted in and i just cant get them out now this is my first time doing this but i have a book. and did what it said but they wont come out so please help quickly so i can be 3/4 ton soon! /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif

2. MTBLAZER89

MTBLAZER89 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

How are you trying to get them out? I usually use a vise and they pop right out. Maybe some penetrating oil and/or some heat /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif

3. hawkeye649

hawkeye649 1/2 ton status

[ QUOTE ]
    i just got 3/4 ton gear /forums/images/graemlins/woot.gif but the u-joints are bad and i cant seem to get them out of the axle yokes yes i pulled the clips or most of them anyways they are really rusted in and i just cant get them out now this is my first time doing this but i have a book. and did what it said but they wont come out so please help quickly so i can be 3/4 ton soon! /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif

[/ QUOTE ]

I use a BFH (ball peen). I've tried vises with sockets and couldn't get the stock (injected plastic stock) u-joints out of my 1985 K5. I got all three u-joints (two rear, one front) out in about 5 minutes a piece including heating them up. As long as you can hit worth a damn, and your ball peen OD is smaller than the OD of the U-joint, your good. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
    Put them in the same way, no drive line (vibration) problems. /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif

4. Blue85