Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

B&M Shift improver kit

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 90idahoblazer, Jun 24, 2001.

1. 90idahoblazer

90idahoblazer 1/2 ton status

Hello,

I just joined the club yesterday. Awsome sight. Fatdog sugested that I post this question here. I just purchesed a B&M shift improver kit for my 90 full size 700R4 tranny. I would like some input good or bad on the kit. I installed it but was a little leary on the instructions.
    When they tell you to install only 6 out of the 9 check balls. I have to wonder. Im a jet mechanic by trade trucks are a little forgien to me. My blazer seems to shift fine , stays a little longer through the power bands but shifts firm and positive.

Thanks ahead of time for the inputs.

This site is awsom, keep it going

2. CaptCrunch

CaptCrunch 1/2 ton status

I don't care for B&M stuff at all. I think it is crap... but a lot of people like it. I would recomend the Gil Younder or Tran-go kits. Also another thing is my buddy is a Tranny guy and he sees a crap load of 700r4's in w/ these kits. He says 700's are not made for shift kits... also he advicees if you have the vette servo remove it unless you have a stronger sprag and sungear shell. I'd also take a look at the fluid... drain the pan and look for cluthc shaving and crude by the magnet. If there is some there chances are it is binding. Binding can feel just like a nice hard shift.... it is also the nember one reason shift kit trannys and rebuilts that have been modified come back 10k later

-Mikey
    1987 Chevy K5 Blazer- 350 TBI
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.geocities.com/milnerlives_2000/blazer.htm>http://www.geocities.com/milnerlives_2000/blazer.htm</A>

3. Derf00

Derf00 1/2 ton status