Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Backfire

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by DomeD U, Jan 26, 2007.

  1. DomeD U

    DomeD U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wichita falls, texas
    Now that I solved the first problem of no spark, now it backfires under a load only. I have set the timimg to 5 deg btc and checked the fireing order about 10 times and all is right. Pluges are gaped to .045. I have never had this much troubld from just a tune up before, this is making me want to sell this thing., btw I just bought it two days ago.

    let me say that before i did the tune up it ran fine. Now that I have changed the plugs, wires, coil and rotor it runs like sh1t. I know that incorrect timimg is what causes backfiring but I have it set to 5 so come on it should not be backfiring.?.
     
  2. DomeD U

    DomeD U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wichita falls, texas
    now I have set the timing to 2 and still backfire......................
     
  3. DomeD U

    DomeD U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wichita falls, texas
    alright now I put everything back on that I took off......

    and still backfire.........

    please help
     
  4. DomeD U

    DomeD U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wichita falls, texas
    and timing back at 5
     
  5. BadBob

    BadBob 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Posts:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lyndon, KS
    Is it firing through the carb or the exhaust?
    I'm going to assume carb if you're backing the timing off. If you're sure you have the timing order right, did you remember to unhook and plug the vaccuum advance before you set base timing?
     
  6. DomeD U

    DomeD U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wichita falls, texas
    exhaut. i think, at least that is what it sounds like.

    I am 100% on the firing order

    yes I unhooked the vac advance.
     
  7. DomeD U

    DomeD U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wichita falls, texas
    ii think I am going to replace the whole dis tomorrow and the carb, if that doesn't work I am selling......
     
  8. Big Blzn

    Big Blzn 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA.
    How much money will you loose trying to sell a truck that doesn't run properly. Don't know much about how to fix your problem but take it to someone who can fix it. You'll be happier in the long run. Stick to it.:D
     
  9. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    What year is the vehicle in question? What cylinder are you hooking the timing light to?
     
  10. DomeD U

    DomeD U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wichita falls, texas
    i am not a complete tard....

    it is a 350

    and I am hooking the timing light to the #1 first on driverside.

    I think I distroied the dis when I forgot to install the little ground strap under the coil.

    it is an 1984 350 4x4 700r4 np208 black on gray 3" block lift w/33x12.5x15 tires
     
  11. bandit4369

    bandit4369 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Posts:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nw. Pa.
    Try closing the gap on the plugs to 35 - 40 and setting your timing at 8. what my buddy runs his 350 at.
     
  12. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    With answers like this don't expect to get any help from me. Knowing the engine and year happens to be pertinent info. Try calling an auto parts store and asking them for parts for your engine without giving them any details and see how far you get. :deal:
     
  13. DomeD U

    DomeD U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wichita falls, texas
    I am sorry man, I am fustrated, that I cannot get it to start. I know that knowing to year and engine is very pertinent info. I think I was refering to the question about if I was putting the timming light on the #1 plug.

    Again sorry
     
  14. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    You have no idea how many people don't know which cylinder is #1. I run across people everyday at work who are clueless. They also think that the cylinders are numbered all in a row, you know, 1,2,3,4 and so on.
     
  15. BadBob

    BadBob 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Posts:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lyndon, KS
    I don't think you can toast the whole distributor, but certainly the module might be bad. Before you toss it and buy a new one, take it to a parts place, most of them can test em.
     

Share This Page