Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

BackPressure....

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by FastFob, Oct 1, 2002.

1. FastFob

FastFob Registered Member

Do diesels need/like backpressure?
    Would opening up the exhaust on a 6.2L help or hurt?

2. BigBluOx

BigBluOx 1/2 ton status

I am by no means an expert on the subject, but I have heard nothing but good things about opening up the exhaust on diesels, especially on the turbo models (much like turbo/gas cars). Anyone with real experience/knowledge wanna chime in and set us straight? /forums/images/icons/grin.gif

Jon

3. imiceman44

imiceman44 1 ton status

You got it guys, a diesel is basically an air pump, you need to help it get more in and help it get it out fast. That's how you build more power.
    That's why all the kits first put a bigger exhaust, and then for more power they add a turbo which stuffs more air.
    IceMan

4. DieselDan

DieselDan 1/2 ton status

6.2s also like a crossover pipe. Becomes real noticable if you run a "J" manifold without the interconnection for an EGR.

5. imiceman44

imiceman44 1 ton status

OK so that's what the J manifold is. It's the one from a one ton or a HD 3/4 ton right?
    IceMan

6. calcide

calcide 1/2 ton status

So, a diesel doesn't scavenge the exhaust like a gas motor does, even though they are both 4 stroke and evacuate the cylinder the same way? If you put too big of an exhaust system on a gas motor, you can hurt the low end performance. Since diesels are all low end, I would think it would matter quite a bit.

If I'm not right, please tell me how gas and diesel exhaust dynamics are different.

7. 84CUCV

84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

Is there a way to put 3-4" pipe for exhaust on? I know someone did this before. mike

8. DieselDan

DieselDan 1/2 ton status