Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

BAD VIBRATION

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by HAMMERDOWN, Aug 12, 2002.

1. HAMMERDOWN

HAMMERDOWN Registered Member

Yep-newbie here. Just put in a 14bff in the truck, and I've got a pretty serious vibration. Yes, I've read a ton of stuff here on vibrations, but there is so much, I figured I'd be better off to throw out a post. This vibe feels like its coming from the rear, and it starts shakin between 35 and 45 mph, when under load. Also seems like it wants to start shaking right after switching gears (after shifting into 3rd and 4th in particular). I let off the gas and it stops. Note-this same vibration was happening with my old 12 bolt rear, and it started about a month ago, just outta the blue (drove fine vibe free since 96)-the 14bff is the same shake, but more intense, and more frequent. I replaced both u-joints on rear DS, tires are balanced, TC to tranny is tight, and my cross member is tight. I'm thinking my driveshaft needs balanced (but why would it start shaking out of nowhere with the old 12 bolt & same DS?). Could also be my driveline angle, but I've only got 4" susp. lift, and the angle is not extreme (not much more than the 12b was). Again why did the 12b start vibin out of nowhere? My motor mounts look pretty rough, but if they were the culprit, wouldn't I feel it at idle and rev in neutral? I havn't got a visual on the tranny mounts yet, but I suspect they are in bad shape. Can somebody thro me a bone? Preciate

JP

2. txbluethunder

txbluethunder 1/2 ton status

try taking the driveshaft and turning it 180 degrees and then bolting it back onto the back axle. sometimes that can make a difference.

3. dyeager535

dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member