Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Baja Trip in the works

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 87K506, Sep 18, 2005.

1. 87K506

87K506 1/2 ton status

Hey all,
    I'm a newbie here to CK5. I hope to hang out around these forums and gain some knowledge, because i know its there. First off....I came across an 87 K5 last year in pretty good shape, with the 350 TBI in it. It runs great. It has a few minor issues (pwr locks don't work, rear window is horribly slow etc.) My dad and I are plannin to restore it...and possibly use it for a trip to Baja California. The trip is going to be in about 4 years when I get out of college, sort of a last, balls out adventure before I get tied to a job. If anyone gets Offroad Adventures, I was thinking something along the lines of Got Baja? Spending a few days south of the border, exploring some of the dunes and coves and small fishing villages. SO...here comes some questions. It has 10 bolts f&r and I was wanting to do a 6" lift with 35s (and possibly some lockers or posis). Will they withstand a trip to Baja and back? Also, what should I plan on doing to outfit this thing for about 6-7 days in Baja. I know extra gas and water cans, and spare parts, but what specific spare parts? Would a winch be a neccesity? We plan on doing this build up over the course of my college years...slowly. But please any input would be greatly appreciated. Im at a loss of where to start on a build up. Our plans now are to get it painted and "restored" (new dash cover seat covers carpet, get it close to new condition again.) But as far as prepping it for a trip like that, I don't know where to start. Any help is greatly appreciated!
    Thanks,
    Cory

2. 87K506

87K506 1/2 ton status