Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Battery cables

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by '73 K5, Sep 21, 2000.

  1. '73 K5

    '73 K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    I'm getting an Optima and a high amp alternator. I want to change out my 4 or 6 gauge cables I have now with some fat 2 gauge ones. Where can I order some that come with the connectors already attached and stuff?

    '73 K5
    Chevy good...Ford bad
     
  2. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    I would check your local yellow pages and look for a batterie shop/store they usually have the bulk cable and heavyduty ends, they should beable to make up some custome cables for ya! I did this but I just bought the parts needed and crimped everything myself so that the cables were the perfect size.
    Good luck

    Rock ON![​IMG] 72 K5 [​IMG] Led Zeppelin
    http://burt4x4.coloradok5.com
     
  3. BUDDY

    BUDDY 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2000
    Posts:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midland, TX
    Go to a local welding supply store. I made up a set of 30 foot long dual purpose welding/jumper cables out of 0/1 ga fine-strand cable for sixty bucks, including the clamps and quick connects!

    HTH
    Buddy

    I've got my dream truck and it's a 72 K-5 that is getting there!!
     
  4. Truckfan2

    Truckfan2 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Posts:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Also, try going to a car stereo shop. Where I worked we had dual 0/1 gauge cable along with some really pricey(sp?) dual gold-plated connectors that we used with high end installs.

    j/k, take the duals out to make dual sense of it.

    Have been stuck (once) as of 8/12/00
    "(2H) Where's all the mud?.(4H)...(4L)..(4H)... oh crap"
     
  5. sosamantx

    sosamantx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2000
    Posts:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    somewhere in Texas
    <font color=blue>They have some 2 guage wires at Autozone, you just need to know the length that you want, as they are already pre-made. They have several different lengths. - Steve</font color=blue>

    <font color=blue>Steve Sosa a.k.a. "sosaman"</font color=blue>
    http://sosaman.home.texas.net/carpics.html
     

Share This Page