Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Been searchin'...off topic A/C

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by kgillyk5, Apr 18, 2007.

1. kgillyk5

kgillyk5 1/2 ton status

Well, I seem to remember a post about someone asking if it was safe to purge their a/c system themselfs. Do you really need special tools? This is a non-cfc 134a system in a 94 ford probe. Dont want to hurt anyone or breath in anything harmful...complete a/c noob here.

Really need this car gutted out asap.

Thanks guys.

2. Jason4x4

Jason4x4 1/2 ton status

it is illegal to vent refrigerant. I think there is like a $10,000.00 fine if caught.

Last edited: Apr 19, 2007
  3. kgillyk5

kgillyk5 1/2 ton status

Ten bucks is cool...if it doesn't kill me or anybody else. Just dont know if their is a way to do it yourself with out 200 bucks worth of equipment? Like letting the pressure out of a tire.

This is non-cfc R134a not R12...Is one not as toxic as the other and what is the no non-sense way to remove this A/C system?...Or is this something everyone takes to a shop?

4. bigbluesuburban

bigbluesuburban 1/2 ton status

I actually think he meant $10,000.00 fine. It is not a little thing. If you need the refrigerant evacuated thn you need to get it to a shop and have them do it. I am by no means a nature nazi, but I don't pour oil down the drain and I don't bleed freon into the ozone. Just be responsible.

5. kgillyk5

kgillyk5 1/2 ton status

I agree... just ignorant on the newer stuff. I was under the impression "non-cfc" ment it was ozone friendly...but if it is bad I will have someone do it right. I would never pour oil on the ground, just looking for info on purging the pressure so I can dismantle the system.

6. tennyohpc

tennyohpc 1/2 ton status