Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Best cam for torque in a 350?

Discussion in '1936-Present Suburban' started by orlandoc, Oct 11, 2002.

  1. orlandoc

    orlandoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Posts:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    I would like to do a cam change on my k30 suburban at the same time that I change the front oil seal. Does any one have a working combination without having to change my stock intake/carb setup? I'm running 4:56 and 35's. Your help will be greatly appreciated.

    Orlando

    "YB-LOW" /forums/images/graemlins/burb.gif
     
  2. muddysub

    muddysub 1 ton suburban status Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Posts:
    10,451
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    my garage, Henderson, NV
    comp cams makes a cam called the "4x4 extreme" cam it's mostly for the low-mid range torque that us 4x4 guys need. /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif
     
  3. chvyhs

    chvyhs 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Posts:
    1,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    Stay with the low end torque makers like the performer or performer RPM intakes. Stay away from the high horspower stuff, it's all about torque!
     
  4. orlandoc

    orlandoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Posts:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Thanks Guys,

    Greatly appreciated!!!
     
  5. heavy4x4

    heavy4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    3,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Delafield, Wisconsin
    Also, by sticking with the Comp 4x4 cams, your engine will still make good manifold vacuum. This is necessary to run your power brakes. If you want me to, give me some specs of your engine and the various cams you want to try...I'll run it through DeskTop Dyno 2000.
     

Share This Page