Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Best thing to do, Rebuild or Buy New???

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Jeremy_C, Dec 8, 2002.

1. Jeremy_C

Jeremy_C 1/2 ton status

My 350 dropped dead thursday. It sounds like it threw a rod cap, as far as i know it didn't crack the block. SO rebuilding is an option. The motor had a little work done to it, aftermarket heads, slightly bigger cam, bigger pistons, an was bored .30 from what i was told.

The other option i'm looking at is buying new, i've never done this before, and I know alot of you have. Where is the best/and least expensive place to buy a new motor, and are they really worth it? I know places like Auto Zone an Advance sell new motors, but i cant imagine they are worth much.

Let me know fellers, i'm all ears. /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif

2. Highlander

Highlander 1/2 ton status

If it was me I'd keep the aftermarket heads and get a new motor to put them on. I would start looking here For that new motor A crate motor would a good start.

Eric

3. 90K5

90K5 1/2 ton status

This is the way i see it...most rebuild shops bore the cylinders and everything using the same thing for every engine. That means there are slight variations for each cylinder, and they wear out faster. Seems like most go for about 90-100K before they start smoking a lot and get tired. Thats not every rebuild shop, but most of the cheaper ones, where you can get an engine for $1000 or so. Spend a little more, like maybe $1800 and you can get a new crate motor from GM with all the factory tolerances, built by GM and just like your old one was new. Should have no problem getting 200K out of it if you take care of it. Thats what I'm doing when mine goes out

4. 4x4Freak

4x4Freak 1/2 ton status