Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Best Year Blazer ?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by r_pogo, Mar 15, 2005.

1. r_pogo

r_pogo Registered Member

I am a newbie to this forum and need some advice from Those Who Know.

I plan on buying a 80-91 4WD Blazer for towing a 3000 lb travel trailer, light utility use (200 miles/month) around town, and an occasional trek over rural roads that are not well maintained, sometimes in bad weather -- not exactly off-road.

What year Blazer might be the best choice?

The priorites are 1) Safety, 2) Reliability, 3) Easy fixit, and 4) Economy. Cosmetics are not too important. I can do most major repairs/rebuilds, including EFI systems myself and will set aside some bucks to bring the Blazer up to good operating condition. Already got the trailer with load leveling/distributing hitch and anti-sway control. This has been an easy tow with a previous 78 Chevy 2WD 1/2 ton pickup.

I have owned another Chevy with the 700R tranny with EFI and that combo looks like it might be a good choice for overall economy in the Blazer as well. I noticed that the spec link shows the 87 and 88 have lower vechicle weights (anybody know what makes the 300 lb difference?) and having less weight to haul around might be an advantage if it is fat instead of meat.

Any advice from Those Who Know would be greately appreciated.

R_Pogo

2. surpip

surpip 1 ton status

I like 89 best, its the best of both worlds IMHO, you get FI with no bugs, and still with the Mech. spedo. and most if not all bugs were worked out of the 700r4's

Plus i own one:D

3. primr87

primr87 Registered Member

personally id go with an 87 & up because i hate looking at all the vacume lines under the hoods on older cali trucks. they can be confusing and fuel inj. is better

4. tomy

tomy Registered Member