Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Big Block Swap

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by eshorvath, Jul 5, 2004.

  1. eshorvath

    eshorvath 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Im debating putting in a BBC, replacing my SBC...Any suggestions? Where can i get the bell housing to adapt, for my 4 speed manual? Anyone done it?
    Eddie
     
  2. ben427

    ben427 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Posts:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waverley, Nova Scotia
    1. Take out smallblock
    2. Take motor mounts off smallblock and put on big block
    3. Drop bigblock in
    4. Drop in larger rad.

    Thats about all there is too it, keep an eye on distributor clearance at the firewall. The bellhousing pattern is the same as any 1960's up chev smallblock.
     
  3. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    also if your going to run roller rockers youll need tall valve covers, which will require a body lift or some firewall massaging. I had a 2" body lift and had to do a bit of grinding to the plate the brake booster attaches to the firewall on. Other post is about correct in whats needed.
     
  4. stretch67

    stretch67 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Posts:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bozeman mt
    you need a big block flywheel. maybe big block mount otherwise everything else is the same. thats why you bought a chevy instead of a furd right? /forums/images/graemlins/woot.gif
     
  5. bajaviking

    bajaviking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Posts:
    752
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Baja
    As somebody else said you will need the bigblock flywheel, I think the pre 91 bigblock flywheels are different form the newer ones so you need to know what year big block you are getting before ordering the flywheel. I did not change my radiator and have not had any overheating problems. I am running a stock 454 with headers and dual exhaust and I am very happy with how it performs. Reliable and strong /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  6. supersize75k5

    supersize75k5 OrganDonorRacing.com

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Posts:
    8,832
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    gilbert az
    there was just recently a thread on finding a flywheel when doing the sm465 and big block.


    I curently am swapping out my small block crate from the 86 and throwing the big block from the 75 in it. I just love that throttle /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif

    Plus it gives you a great reason to get new tires every year /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif

    -shawn



    Kepp in touch and we can share info as we are both doing the sm465 and big block /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  7. eshorvath

    eshorvath 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    How is your swap going?
    Eddie
     
  8. supersize75k5

    supersize75k5 OrganDonorRacing.com

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Posts:
    8,832
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    gilbert az
    I have decided to put the big block in the 72 project now, the 86 will keep it's motor and the buggy will get the zz4 crate 350,


    the 72 will get a t-400 if I can find one, if not it will get my sm465 2wd. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  9. eshorvath

    eshorvath 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    How did your SBC/BBC swap go?
    Eddie
     
  10. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    You only need a different flywheel if you are using a 454.
     
  11. spincast375

    spincast375 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Posts:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee, U.S.A.
    This is the best thread I have seen in our first year with CK5. I have been asking for a separate forum just bbc 454's. No success, yet.

    PO installed our 454 in our dd. The trans is a TH350. What are you guys running? We'd like the 700R for its overdrive. But we have read there are reliablility issues. If we had a good trans shop that could change out the drive shafts, we'd look more seriously at it.

    How can I tell if the PO installed a different flywheel?

    Thanks. Again.
     
  12. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    If you're driving the truck, the flywheel was swapped. A 350 flywheel doesn't work on a 454. :cool1:
     
  13. hero

    hero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Posts:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I'm pretty sure that a 454 is externally balanced, and a small block (excluding the 400) are all internally balanced. This is why you would need the flywheel for the 454.

    I know you said you're running amanual trans, but this may be helpful for someone else. Appearantly there is a different bolt pattern for the torque converter on a small block than there is a big block. I have a TH350 that had a small block in front of it. I dropped the 454 in, bolted up the motor mounts and bellhousing then realized that my torque converter bolts didn't line up. :o Luckily I had a th400 torque converter that was from a big block. Some converters have both patterns, but not mine.
     
  14. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Some flex plates also have holes for both torque converter patterns. :cool1:
     
  15. hero

    hero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Posts:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yup that's true. My small block flex plate does have both patterns, but that didn't really help me any. :D
     

Share This Page