Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Bigger cam in a diesel?

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by ramses, Mar 7, 2006.

1. ramses

ramses 1/2 ton status

Im just getting into diesels and im trying to learn everything I can about modifying them for performance and I was just wondering why I hardly ever see anyone putting a bigger cam in a diesel like you would in a gasoline motor to get more power. Would a bigger cam not give a diesel more power too? Also, is there an exhaust size too big to run on a diesel, and would headers not give more power too? I see trucks with 5 inch pipes sometimes but some people have told me you can go too big. I plan on swapping a 6.2 in this summer when I find one and I want to modify it to get as much power as I can. So far, aside from a turbo and a big exhaust, I dont know much else to do to a 6.2 to get more power.

2. imiceman44

imiceman44 1 ton status

The turbo, and bigger exhaust will get you so much out of the stock CAM that no one looks into these parts.
    The best thing you can do to a diesel is Turbo, big pipe and Propane injection which works best with a Turbo.

3. darkshadow

darkshadow 1 ton status

I think it was persons just ran an artical last month about high powering a 6.2, good artical, had accsesorys and years to use/avoid

4. ramses

ramses 1/2 ton status

I think youre talking about the article in Diesel Power. I know a turbo and exhaust is the best things to do to a diesel, but I just want to know if anything that works well on a gasoline motor would work well with a diesel too, and what else can be done to a 6.2 to get more power.

5. rjfguitar

rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner