Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Blazer vs Pickup

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by rudycentral, Jun 6, 2002.

1. rudycentral

rudycentral Registered Member

My wife and I are considering buying another truck. I had an 84 K5 blazer 1 year ago... The body was shot - rust in all the normal places. Now we are selling our Contour and need another winter/toy vehicle. This will be a 3rd vehicle so I have some time to work on it. I have no experience with body, but engine, and drive train I can do...

With that said what are the pro's and cons between the Blazer and a shortbox Pickup?
    Just joined you site - this place rocks! You have put together a wealth of information for all Chevy truck owners.

2. HarryH3

HarryH3 1 ton status Author

I had a couple of pickup trucks around 25 years ago. It seemed like far too often I needed to haul more than the 3 people that could easily fit into the cab of the pickup. (Of course, a crew cab would resolve that!). But I also didn't like the limited interior storage available in a pickup. I had to leave stuff laying in the bed, where it was ripe for being ripped off. /forums/images/icons/mad.gif So I started looking around at other options. I bought my first K5 in 1981. I've since owned 3 other K5's, an S-Jimmy and 2 Suburbans. /forums/images/icons/shocked.gif When I need to haul dirt, rocks, etc. I just borrow a trailer from a buddy. /forums/images/icons/cool.gif

3. muddin4fun

muddin4fun 3/4 ton status

I've owned both and have gotten more use out of my blazer...plus it's better for offroading IMO.
    Blazer's are trucks...just a little shorter wheelbase and a removable top and more passanger space /forums/images/icons/smile.gif
    I love my blazer!

4. BlazerGuy

BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status