Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Blending Paint into current finish

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 83ZZ502_Jimmy, Mar 9, 2007.

1. 83ZZ502_Jimmy

83ZZ502_Jimmy 1/2 ton status

Any tips on doing this?

I have to blend a small (20x20) section (right by the RR wheelwell) on one of my K5's. Long story involving a rock...:D

I have all the paint, basecoat/clearcoat and whatnot to do it. I am trying to avoid having to refinish the whole RR quarter.

How much do I sand down into the "good" part of the finish? How far do I take the base? and the clear?

Again, I'm not a professional, but I have sucessfully painted a couple of trucks. I have the HVLP gun and D/A sander etc...

Just need some tips, if any. :)

Thanks in advance,
    John

2. ryoken

ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

take me a pic... I'll walk you thru where to backtape it, etc... Your gonna want some blending reducer....

here's the quickie...

do the repair area thru last primer coat.

buff the entire quarter thoroughly with some lacquer (orange) compound. buff "into" the primer edges, bringing the overspray back into the repair area....

final wetsand cross-blocking of primered area.. 400 for base/clear. carry this out into the painted area, say 4 to 6"s...

blow off.. final wash.. i prefer denatured alcohol...

mask.. backtape any peaks your able to utilize...

final tack..

base the primered area till mostly covered.. usually 2 to 4 coats... next coat bring it out to the where you sanded to.. make sure at this point your watching the base go on.. you want be dusting it somewhat at the edges...

last coat, go out even further, but really dust your edges.. just watch the base, you can watch how the color feathers in...

dry thoroughly..