Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

blower control switch

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by blazerjake86, Oct 12, 2003.

  1. blazerjake86

    blazerjake86 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    for some reason myblowers control switch does not work. my blower works i even put a new relay in it. for now i have a switch hooked up and it blows full blast when on or not at all when off. could i have just gotten a bad relay? when i turn the control box to off it goes off so i know that works any ideas?
     
  2. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    two words....

    BLOWER RESISTOR!
     
  3. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    same problem I have. Seems like my full blast could be stronger too.
     
  4. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    9,084
    Likes Received:
    486
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    I have had the problem before of the fan only working on full speed. The relay mounted on the side of the A/C evaporator box was bad. That thing is SPDT switch. It switches the blower motor between either full 12V or the blower resistor. One side of the contacts wears out and you lose all of the lower speeds.

    You can bypass it temporarily to see if the problem is the resistor or the relay. You can take the relay apart if you're careful and clean the contacts. However, I find that to only work for a few more months.
     
  5. blazerjake86

    blazerjake86 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok where is the blower resistor at i know where the relay is but not the resistor please help
     
  6. blazerjake86

    blazerjake86 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    i found the resistor. the next question i have is can you buy these things at any auto parts store?
     
  7. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    can you let me in on where the resistor is?
     
  8. blazerjake86

    blazerjake86 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    it is on the air comd box. it has two nuts and then it pulls out it has three springs its above the relay
     
  9. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    haha, I don't have air.
     
  10. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    [ QUOTE ]
    haha, I don't have air.

    [/ QUOTE ]
    It will still be on the blower box somewhere. They get hot so they hang them in the airflow to keep them cool. My bet on a Non A/C cab is it will be right next to the blower motor so it get's in the airstream before the heater.

    There is TWO powersources for the blower. The highspeed has a fusable link and is tied in to the junction block on the fire wall near the brake booster. The low speeds are on a fuse in the fuse box.
     

Share This Page