Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

BLOWN?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by CHEVY 4WD, Aug 20, 2002.

1. CHEVY 4WD

CHEVY 4WD 1/2 ton status

I was wondering if a blower(supercharger) could help in off roading it dosent seem like there comanly used I no that there not cheap and you would probably need to cut your hood but dont they always make power not like a turbo and have lag and unlike nitrois you are always using it. BTW if im wrong about any of this please tell me im not a blower expert.

2. Shaggy

Shaggy 3/4 ton status

<font color="green"> Superchargers are pretty cool, they work all the time, but the power gains are mainly noticable in the higher RPM range. A modest blower can help increase fuel economy if you keep your foot out of it, and if the engine is built for it they are quite reliable if you stay with a pretty modest one. I've considered doing a smaller blower, like a B&amp;M 144 or something, but wouldn't do it on a stock motor, I'd want to build it right with blower pistons and a cam that has a profile designed to be run with forced induction. So yes, they are a good mod unless all you do is rock crawling, since you'd never really get into the power. They would be cool in mud or on sand dunes. BUT, they are nto a bolt on mod, they take lots of planning and a correctly built engine to produce reliable power. A smaller one would fit under the hood of a Chevy truck, especially if you have a body lift.</font color>

3. Silver84k5

Silver84k5 1/2 ton status

i dont know anything bout them either cept that when a camaro passes me with one it Whines and sounds bad ass,,,,, but anyway, What about mud getting in there? could you use a snorkel? or.........

4. Shaggy

Shaggy 3/4 ton status