Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

body lift options?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by stockk5, Nov 21, 2005.

1. stockk5

stockk5 1/2 ton status Premium Member

i have a 6" lift on my k5 and im planning on getting a 2" body, are there any good options to choose, any troubles putting them in? does it take long? im new to the k5 scene and im trying to learn some tricks.

2. shaun89

shaun89 1/2 ton status

opps...i was on my bros name when i posted that, im actually the one needing some help. sorry about that

3. Leper

Leper 1/2 ton status

4. Veefour

Veefour Registered Member

I'm new to all this as well, but I have heard that it isn't a good idea to do a body lift AND a suspension lift. One or the other. However, I didn't get any reasons behind it.
    If i read your post right, you already have a six inch suspention lift on the truck?

5. 89GMCSuburban

89GMCSuburban 1/2 ton status

I have both....never had a problem. Expect some problems with rust when removing the bolts. I'd recommend replacing the body mounts when you do it.

6. shaun89

shaun89 1/2 ton status

ya, i have a 6" lift on my truck already, i just want more room for flexing on trails with 39" tires, and a lot of guys i know have both suspension and body lift, i never heard of any problem with it :confused:

7. Leper

Leper 1/2 ton status

That is alot of lift for 39s. You are going to have to do some fender trimming, unless you go with a 12" lift. Keep it low and trim the rest. My son runs 38s with 4" lift and trimming. I am about to be running 39.5 Rockers, that are actually 39" tall, with a 6" lift and trimming. My neighbor runs 6" lift and a 2" body lift for his 42" Irocs and lot of trimming because he has set his truck up to flex.

8. shaun89

shaun89 1/2 ton status