Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Body mount torque

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Chevy305, Aug 27, 2006.

  1. Chevy305

    Chevy305 6 Lug 14bsf Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Posts:
    11,232
    Likes Received:
    491
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    What do I torque the body mounts to on my 85 K10?
     
  2. Teamstatic2001

    Teamstatic2001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Posts:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Muskegon, MI
  3. cbbr

    cbbr 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    14,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    High velocity, Low altitude
    I tightened mine as tight as I could get them. The guy helping me kept saying "that's 275 lbs"........
     
  4. Chevy305

    Chevy305 6 Lug 14bsf Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Posts:
    11,232
    Likes Received:
    491
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    So should I let my impact wrench loose on them or do it by hand?
     
  5. Teamstatic2001

    Teamstatic2001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Posts:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Muskegon, MI
    I would do them by hand and make them damn tight, no real torque spec i believe i dont think it really matters just as long and the rubber is smooshed and they are tight enough there not gunna let loose.
     
  6. Chevy305

    Chevy305 6 Lug 14bsf Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Posts:
    11,232
    Likes Received:
    491
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Ok I guess I will have whip out my breaker bar and tighten the hell out of them.

    Thanks guys ;)
     
  7. dieselponyexpress

    dieselponyexpress 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Posts:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    I know this thread is a little older, but one of my cab mounts (K30, single cab) broke the other day. I replaced the old ones with new poly bushings about 3 months ago and tightened them really well.
    Now while offroading the hole in one of the bottom cups teared out (what a bang!!) and the lower mount fell down. Is this because i tightened them too much or couldn't the 22 years old rusty cups just withstand any longer?

    Thanks in advance.
    Walter
     
  8. Randy92782

    Randy92782 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Posts:
    16,287
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Arcadia, MO
    i'd say probably the cup was deteriorated. mine looked fine and i reused them but there were a couple that came out in pieces when i took the bolts loose to install the body lift. my advice would to just use huge flat washers or find the cups in an LMC book. that's probably what imma do
     
  9. Cowboy_80

    Cowboy_80 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Posts:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mcloud, OK
    can't be too tight. Your body and your engine are supposed to stay where you put them. If it wasn't rust it might have worked loose a little, the free play allowing for more force... My bet would be on rust though.
     
  10. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    An instruction sheet I got way back in the early 90's from Energy Suspension states to torque the bolts to 85 ft. lbs. so there can still be a slight flex.

    All the instructions I've gotten in the later years didn't have any torque readings. So, I'm sticking with 85 ft. lbs.
     
  11. dieselponyexpress

    dieselponyexpress 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Posts:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany

    Ok, I will torque them all to 85 ft. lbs., maybe using some locktite on the bolts. The original rubber bushings are way more flexible, even full torqued.

    Thanks again guys!

    Walter
     
  12. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Thought of this thread as I was browsing the '91 R/V manual.

    Core support nuts are 35 ft lbs
    Cab mounts are 55 ft lbs for bolts, 35 ft lbs for nuts.
     
  13. AZ79K5Project

    AZ79K5Project 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Posts:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    I was looking at the Energy Systems instructions and found this line:
    When all mounts and hardware are installed, torque all bolts to factory
    specifications
    .

    According to the service manual, the body mounts are torqued from 35 to 55 ft - lbs depending on truck model and location.

    For the K5:
    Position #1 - 35 ft-lbs
    Position #2 - 55 ft-lbs
    Position #3 - 45 ft-lbs
    Position #4 - 35 ft-lbs
    Position #5 - 35 ft-lbs
     
  14. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    What year service manual? Odd that they threw in the random 45 ft-lbs there. :)
     
  15. AZ79K5Project

    AZ79K5Project 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Posts:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    1979 Light Duty Truck Service Manual. The listing is a little screwy.
     
  16. sarasotausmc

    sarasotausmc 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Posts:
    769
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville NC
    That would be a great question for ORD in the vendor section. I'm getting ready to order a 1" body lift, so the information would be good to have.
     

Share This Page