Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Body swap

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by cegusman, May 8, 2002.

1. cegusman

cegusman 3/4 ton status

I was just given a 1976 2wd long bed 1/2 ton, the cab forward has no rust at all, the bed is trashed. I was wondering if it would be an easy swap to pull my blazer tub and put the cab on? I have the 6.2 diesel, is there anything that it will limt me from doing? As for wiring I will just reuse every thing from the blazer tub. I have never done this before, any help is appreciated.

2. 55Willy

55Willy 3/4 ton status

What year is your blazer? the rear cab mount may not mount up but if your blazer is a 1973 to 1977 it may. they both have the same style mount just weither or not the it is the right heigth and spacing for the bushings.

I know someone just did this..but I am at a total lost for name/forums/images/icons/crazy.gif shame on me, what kinda die hard am I,LOL

3. cegusman

cegusman 3/4 ton status

it is an 82

4. FRIZZLEFRY

FRIZZLEFRY 1/2 ton status

I just did this.I swapped a 74 C20 cab onto my 81 K5.Its bolt on for the most part but there is a little welding and fab work involved also but nothing major.Call your DMV and Highway Patrol to find out all the leagle stuff before doing the swap.I talked to a CHP VIN# officer to get all the right info cuz the DMV here gave me a bunch of different stories.

5. cegusman

cegusman 3/4 ton status

what was the minor fab work. What was involved

6. FRIZZLEFRY

You will need to fab a new crossmember or use the one off of the truck frame for the rear cab mounts.I cut the one from my donor truck modified it to fit the K5 frame.Also you will need at least a 2" body lift so that the tcase clears the floor.