Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

brake light relay question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BranndonC, Sep 21, 2005.

  1. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    how would i go about getting my brakes to go "Flash, flash, solid" when i hit the brakes, like 2 flashes with in a second or less, then stay solid from then on. I have led bulbs if that matters
     
  2. Russell

    Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2000
    Posts:
    7,922
    Likes Received:
    333
    Location:
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    Not quite sure I understand the point of the flashing, but I am pretty sure you'd need to build some sort of a little electronic controller...
     
  3. wildbilzrydn

    wildbilzrydn 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Posts:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Joliet, IL
    Can you program PLC's? Know anyone who can? I do a little industrial control stuff, like relays and such and the only way I can see to do that is with a PLC. Plus, you'd have lots of adjustment.(you could scroll your lights around the truck or have them flash like a ambulance too.) Either that or you'd need two time delay relays, set at different times..... I'd say that would work too with a little head scratching
     
  4. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    i dont know anything about electronics really, i know its somewhat possible though because my friend has 3 brake lights come on one after the other when he hits his brakes.
     
  5. Russell

    Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2000
    Posts:
    7,922
    Likes Received:
    333
    Location:
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    I'll do a little research and see if thats something I can set up using a 555 timer or something.

    Gimme a day or two :)
     
  6. ntsqd

    ntsqd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Posts:
    3,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So. CA
    Was thinking that's a timer deal too. Could possibly do it with an oscillator circuit, but I've not a clue how to go about that. Using a PLC would be like hitting a forming nail with a gold plated hammer. It'd work, but jeez....
     
  7. wildbilzrydn

    wildbilzrydn 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Posts:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Joliet, IL
    Yea, but just think about the possibilities, Infinite control, he could flash them 100 times, or have random or whatever. used PLCs can be had fairly cheap.....
    Learning laddder logic wouldn't be bad either.
     
  8. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
  9. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    this is what i see when i look at that
    [​IMG]


    But if thats what i need to do, maybe i could find someone who understands that to help me. thanks :bow:
     
  10. TJS

    TJS 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Posts:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westport,CT
  11. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    cool, i'm on the right track now, i'm searching the net to find one for my application
     
  12. Russell

    Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2000
    Posts:
    7,922
    Likes Received:
    333
    Location:
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    I'm working on a custom chip for ya, to see if I can come up with something that is built to your specs.

    Basically, I need to know exactly how you want the lights to behave, then I'll send you the diagram, along with a parts list. Pretty easy to follow the wiring, and easy to do too, you can get all the parts you need at Radio Shack (or is it called The Source by Circuit City down there too?)
     
  13. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    the diodes going to the brake light would prevent any current from reaching the lights,
    they are in backwards :D
     

Share This Page