Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Brake line replacement? Tool?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BlitzK5, Oct 21, 2005.

1. BlitzK5

BlitzK5 1/2 ton status

I just bought a double flaring tool to change out my rear brake line. Is this the corrrect type of tool that is used to flare out the ends? Im not sure what is ment by the double flare. Is this the stanard type for vehicles or is there another type of flaring tool needed? Any of you brake experts no if this is the right tool to do the job and if not what is?

2. diesel4me

diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

I'm not a brake expert,but..

Yes,a double flare is the required way of flaring brake lines and fuel lines on vehicles(only legal way anyhow--single flare is used on plumbing mostly--but will work in a pinch on a fuel line or brake line)..

Compression fittings that use "ferrules" and nuts to squish them against the tubing are not supposed to be used for brake line repairs,they are illegal---(though I have seen dozens of vehicles with them,and I have used them myself in an emergency :blush: :whistle: )..ok for low pressure fuel and oil lines,but definately NOT reccomended on brake lines..
    I have found several on trucks I had driven until the lines rusted thru though!--didn't know they were there until I replaced the rusted line! :eek1:

A "double flare" means rather than just flaring the tubing otward into a funnel shape,the "double" part is the second step--it folds the outside edge of the flared tubing back in onto itself,and it makes the flared end double walled,for extra srtength and vibration resistance..withstands higher pressure better,and resists cracking better... :crazy:

3. BlitzK5

BlitzK5 1/2 ton status

Right on. Thanks alot.

4. bridgeguy

bridgeguy Registered Member