Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

brake problem????????

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by fulltopblazer, Apr 4, 2002.

1. fulltopblazer

fulltopblazer 1/2 ton status

I just installed disk brakes on the rear of my blazer (14 bolt ff) I have bleed them several times and still have a soft pedal. When you really slam on the brakes and it goes all the way to the floor the brake light comes on. I have a new master cylinder on it new d44 calipers new brake hoses new rotors everything. When your pumping the brakes up to bleed them they get stiff and feel like you have good brakes but when you start it up and drive it not much their I mean it stops but not as well as it did when I had drums on it.

2. fulltopblazer

Come on guys I need help I'm suppose to go to a mud bog this weekend and I can't stop this thing. I know thier has got to be something I'm overlooking here.

3. zakk

zakk 1/2 ton status

i have the same problem. I have been told it might be the master cyclinder is not up for the job. haven't attacked it since it hasn't been started in 3 weeks/forums/images/icons/crazy.gif

4. arq

arq 1/2 ton status

may want to try your brake pads, what brand are you using. i went through a similar ordeal with a 72 i had. took me about 3months to realize that the cheap brake pads i was using were crap. got myself some good ones and was able to lockem. BTW, it was a stock blazer, replaced ever single brake component durring that 3month period except for the brake pads.

ARQ.

5. fulltopblazer