Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Broken diff bolt

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by lochenjons, Apr 5, 2007.

  1. lochenjons

    lochenjons 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    I was pretty sure there was a thread on this but I couldnt find it. My rear diff was leaking a bit and I had popped the cover off not that long ago so I go to see how tight the bolts are...not tight at all. So I tighten them all down more. Then I deicde to tighten the bottom one down just a little bit more...and it snaps off :doah:. Anyone got a 14b for sale :D?
    EDIT: wow long day... if you read the post before I edited it....
     
  2. nad

    nad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Festus, MO
    I snapped on off in my rear 10 bolt as well. I just left it like that, but I haven't changed the diff fluid since. I think it'll be fine, once I pull the cover again, i'll try to get pliers on it and get it out, and just put a new bolt in there. Once I get a good job and some $$$ I'm going for the 14 bolt and D44 also.
     
  3. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    Are you talking about a ring gear bolt or a carrier cap bolt?
     
  4. lochenjons

    lochenjons 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    No just the cover, no biggee. More of a rant on my part than anything else. I had a question but then I realized it was really really dumb :doah:. I was surpised how little it took to break the bolt tho, and I had just broken another one from somewhere else :mad:
     
  5. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    Oh ok, a cover bolt. Those are a 3/8" x 16 bolt and can take 35 lbs torque. I usually only tighten them by hand if using the stock cover and if a thick aftermarket cover then i will break out the torque wrench and torque them to usually about 30 lbs.
     
  6. lochenjons

    lochenjons 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Oh thanks, knowing the size will save me some effort. I always tighten them by hand (dont have a torque wrench) and I barely gave it anything. Oh well...now I'm gonna have to pull off the whole cover again to be able to get whats left of the bolt out.
     
  7. Avery4jc

    Avery4jc 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    10,760
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Fresno, Ca.
    I did the same thing when I was filling up my 14ff...I filled it up...slathered some RTV on it and put the cover on.
    When I started to tighten the bolts I was going in a criss cross pattern and got them tight (by hand) then made one last trip around just to be safe and I snapped the head off of one of them...I didn't mess with it and I haven't had any problems.
    You can take a dremel and slot the top of the bolt...then use a flat head screwdriver to unscrew the stuck part of the bolt...
    Or try drilling it out and re-tapping the hole (might have to go to a bigger bolt...)
    Or has anyone tried drilling it out and using a heli-coil?
     
  8. lochenjons

    lochenjons 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Ha never thought of that, Ill have to give that a try
     
  9. Avery4jc

    Avery4jc 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    10,760
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Fresno, Ca.
    yeah we used to do that all the time when I worked at the local hobby shop...whenever screws were stripped to the point that they would have to be replaced we'd just slot the top with a cut-off wheel then use a flat head screwdriver to unscrew the stud.
     

Share This Page