Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Broken input shaft on 700R4

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by PROFESSORSK5, Feb 15, 2005.

  1. PROFESSORSK5

    PROFESSORSK5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Posts:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So California
    I have an 89 K5 with an 8 1/2 inch lift, 36 inch Super Swamper IROK's, 14 bolt ff and 3/4 ton 10 bolt, The transmission shop rebuilt the trans (700R4) about a year ago and at just about three months, the input shaft (the shaft that goes into the troque converter) broke just inside the bell, they fixed it, and now after about nine months the input shaft broke again and this time they said it broke at the weld on the outside of the bell. Does anybody make a stronger replacement or is there something wrong with the transmission. :k5:
     
  2. DPI

    DPI 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2000
    Posts:
    2,792
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    In the Burbs close to Tulsa, OK
    There is something wrong with the tranny. I am not a tranny expert, but that shaft should not break unless something is not aligning right. What weld broke? That input shaft should not be welded. Did the weld the shaft to fix it the first time? If so, that is the problem.

    Other things I would check to make sure they are not bent or warped are the flex plate and torque converter.
     
  3. sickquad

    sickquad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ma
    If it happened two times it sounds like something isn't lined up right. Could the entire transmission casting be warped? Therefore it isn't bolting up to the motor straight? I'm not sure how you would check that though.

    -Chris
     
  4. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    i would count the splines on the shaft, the 27 spline used to break, but they changed to 30 spline in mid 84 and i have never heard of a problem. i have heard of some tranny shops stealing the 30 spline shafts and putting a 27 spline shaft in its place.

    if the shaft is 30 spline, something is deffinetely wrong inside the tranny. the only thing i can think of is if the hub that the shaft sits into is bent a little then the converter can be putting a side force on it and causeing it to break.

    there is no weld on it, the shaft is a 1 peice hardened steel and the hub it sits into is aluminum.
     

Share This Page