Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Built 10 or Dana 60

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by stockk5, May 31, 2005.

1. stockk5

stockk5 1/2 ton status Premium Member

Alright well i recently got a 14bolt rear end, i am gonna put that in my truck at some point. i mostly do mudding and sandy hill climb stuff. Not to big into the rocks but trails seem fun.. i havent done a ton yet though. I was thinking if i can get an 8lug conversion for my 10bolt. and some cromo shafts w/ the gearing on want in it do you think it would work well enough? I am not very hard on my stuff. Like i said im only mudding and sand dunes, i plan on getting 38" tires at some point as well. This is my DD and is going to be for a while. I am a poor college student so i cant exactly afford a D60 right now as well. I have yet to break anything on my 10bolts but i know if i want bigger tires i atleast have to upgrade the rear. So would a 10bolt hold up u think to 38's used for mudding and such? what would you guys do?

2. dave_90_blazer

dave_90_blazer 1/2 ton status

10 bolt on 38's and mudding, it will break eventually, convert it w the stock shafts, and save till you can get a D60, plus, a deal on a D60 might come along while your waiting, I found 2 D60's for $1300 for the pair :D , that was a good deal there

3. k5freak44

k5freak44 1/2 ton status

there was just a post on here where a guy was running 3/4 ton stuff with upgraded shafts and joints and he was running 42s.

if you are easy on it you should be ok.

right now im running 36s on 1/2 ton drivetrain and i havent broken a thing. i hit stuff hard to, but i only really do mud and some small trails.

4. ntaj*ep

ntaj*ep 1/2 ton status

You'll be fine, just carry extra u-joints and possibly shafts. :D

5. Bhintz

Bhintz 1/2 ton status

Dana 60

6. K5er4Life