Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Bump steer, The need for Cross Over, Same problem, new possible solution!!

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Pookster, Jul 5, 2003.

1. Pookster

Pookster 1/2 ton status

So I have been doing some research and some math in regards to my bumpsteer problem, and think I found a very very simple way to solve both. But before I make a outta myself, I thought I might go through and pick the brains of folks like you. /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif (and feel free to add/correct me if im wrong, Im still learning.) /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

As I understand it, the primary reason for going over to crossover is that as suspension flex is increased in the front, the steering tends to bind up badly, especially when it is a very tall lift (4+inches). The more flex you have, the worse the problem is, to the point where you may have no where left to turn your steering wheel, even though your tires are straight.

The bump steer problem, small in comparison to binding up, is caused by exactly the same forces- spring compression, primarily on the drivers side. The problem also occurs on deceleration, when the front axle is loaded up.

Who notices bump steer the least? Stock vehicles, truck with very worn ball joints, tierod ends, etc. The extra play in the system allows the bumpsteer to be absorbed.

Who notices it the most? Lifted vehicles, removed sway bars , flexy springs, soft shocks.