Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Burb buildup - need thoughts

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 87Whitey, Nov 17, 2005.

1. 87Whitey

87Whitey Registered Member

Aug 22, 2005
    Hey all, this is my first post to the forums, I am glad I found this site...I have looked and searched on many topics and found a lot of great information. I have been wheeling burbs for the last 2 years, come from a Jeep background in which I have owned, built, and wheeled Jeeps (YJs, TJs, XJs, SJs) for the last 17 years. Sorry for being so long, but figure more info is better

I have some bonus money coming in from work and am ready to do some upgrades to my 87 burb. I would like to see some comments on my thoughts since spring rates and there effect on burbs is an area I do not have a lot of knowledge. I am not building a rock crawler, I am trying to build for a long highway ride (to get to the backcountry), choppy forest trails, muddy sites, water fording, and some technical trails that have mild rocky areas...
    I spend most of my wheeling time in Southern CO around the Ouray area so trails like Black bear and Poughkeepsie, then around Blanca peak

Todays specs:

87 Burb 1/2 ton with 350 FI, 700R4, and NP208 (these are all in great shape)
    Corp 10 front and rear
    Stock leafs with Quad front shocks
    32x11.5s on stock rims
    fresh exhuast system from manifold back (high flow cat, and flowmaster 50)

What I would like/plan to do:

Snorkle:Plans for a built it custom to go up the passenger side with an outlet near roof line