Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

burning out brakes

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by airborne808, May 5, 2003.

1. airborne808

airborne808 Registered Member

I'm new to four-wheeling and need some help.

This weekend, I took my M1009 Blazer up a mountain (3000 ft elevation) to my wifes company cabin.

I've never four-wheeled a CUCV (even in the Army) but the beast performed FLAWLESSLY all the way up. My wife rented a Mountaineer and it performed just as good, if not better...anyway...The road up is very, very treacherous, next to steep cliffs. It was fun, but also very nerve racking.

Then came the ride down......

I was in 4 high but still needed to ride the brakes. I tried to shift to 4 low, but the shifter wouldn't go...

Halfway down, I smelled the brakes burning, but because of the treachery of the road, I couldn't take my foot off the brakes..

By the time we were at the end of this road, I had very little braking power and the brake light was on.

I stopped to let it cool down and within a couple of minutes things were almost back to normal.

Need some help because we want to go back up in a couple of months but I don't want to go through the same thing again....and I must admit....4 wheeling can be very addicting.

Thanks

Jeff

2. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

For steep decents you should be in low range and let that 6.2 do the majority of the braking for you. You must be stopped and in neutral or park to shift the transfer case into low range. Trying to shift from high range to low range while moving can cause damage to the transfer case.

Basically what happened was you began to boil the brake fluid from having to ride the brakes for so long. You were lucky not to lose the brakes entirely.