Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Bypassing Defrost

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Hossbaby50, Oct 31, 2005.

  1. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Is there a way to bypass the the vacuum setup for the defrost? When I removed my air conditioning I accidentally cut the vacuum line for the defrost. Is there a way to make the defrost work without using the vaccum setup or a way to bypass that vacuum line?

    Harley
     
  2. 79k20350

    79k20350 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ct
    why not just hook a new line up? if you cant what is preventing you from doing it?
     
  3. cybrfire

    cybrfire 1 ton status Vendor GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Posts:
    15,139
    Likes Received:
    565
    Location:
    Iowa

    Shove a bunch of rags in the floor vent! :haha:
     
  4. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    When I clipped the line that runs into the engine bay I cut it pretty much flush with the firewall so I can't really reconnect anything to it.

    Harley
     
  5. diesel4me

    diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    17,540
    Likes Received:
    927
    Location:
    Massachussetts
    wire it..

    You might be able to stick a plastic hose splicer,or metal tube like a short hunk of 3/16 brake line in the cut off peice in the firewall,and splice a new hose onto it that way..

    Or,you could crawl under the dash,find the vacuum diaphram unit that closes the floor/defroster door,pull it to the "defrost" position,and wire it there so its on "defrost" all the time..I'd rather have chilled feet that an icy windsheild!..but you'll get SOME heat to the floor,even when its on "defrost!..

    I'd fix it right with a new hose,even if it means drilling a new hole in the firewall--I bet there is a rubber plug nearby you could pop out and shove another hose thru,if you cant use the original hole and hose..only if the vacuum diaphram dewhicky was junk would I wire it up..it was 40 bucks for one of those on my brother in laws 95 GMC,so I wired his up to stay on "defrost" all winter..he was too cheap to buy one!..(P.S.--they are cheap at the junkyards!)... :crazy:
     
  6. 3 on the tree

    3 on the tree 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    gunnison colorado
    If you can find the lever that controls the defrost vent, hook up a manual choke cable to it.
     

Share This Page