Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

cab swap on pickup?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Rix_Gotta_Blazer, May 18, 2002.

1. Rix_Gotta_Blazer

Rix_Gotta_Blazer 1/2 ton status

i just bought a 1970 chevy 4x4 pickup w/ a step side bed. i have another truck just like it but a 2 wheel drive. the cab on the 4x4 is rested out completely. i was thinking about putting the 2 wheel drive cab on the 4x4 chassis. i know that it is possible, but what all is in that project? will i need anything special? can i do it in 1 day with 2 friends>? please help, i have never done anything like this before. thanx.

2. fourwheelerjeff

fourwheelerjeff 1/2 ton status Staff Member Moderator

i did this once before but it was on a 74 2wd pu that i had rolled, so this may or may not help, the rolled was auto and a/c, the replacement cab was 4 sp and no a/c, so i had to cut part of the floor and firewall out and pop rivet it back together, i stripped the rolled cab and the good cab, and then painted the good, and used a winch truck to pick the cabs up and exchange them, then it was a matter of putting in the wiring, dash parts, ect and hooking the a/c to the firewall, the humps are different between 4wd and 2wd (2wd auto is low and 4 sp is high, all 4wd humps are high, just have different number of holes in them), as for the time, it took me all summer but i was only 16 and working on a farm 12 hours a day, and my parents said "fix it or walk", now i tell them it is their fault that i haven't outgrown this fascination with chevy's especially 4x4's LOL

3. gokartergo

gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

Howdy I am from Hollister also..Do you know JJ at Hollister Auto parts?? He is doing the same thing right now...Dan

4. captain chaos

captain chaos 1/2 ton status