Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Cable question

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by jarheadk5, Jun 19, 2006.

  1. jarheadk5

    jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    4,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Cable television, that is.

    Both my parents and my in-laws consulted me this weekend during Father's Day visits regarding their "noisy" pictures on some TV's in the house. Both households have multiple in-line splitters to come up with the required number of outlets to their various equipment.
    Would they each be better off with an amplified 4-outlet splitter located as close as possible to the service entrance, and hopefully only need one non-amp splitter somewhere downstream? I can get the amp semi-reasonably priced at work...
     
  2. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Less spiltters better signal .

    However , I run my house on 2 splitters . Splitter 1 goes to living room and a second splitter . Second splitter runs to bedroom , computer room ( computer room has splitter for tv/modem ) and garage .

    Good picture for me , even with the db loss , in that back bedroom .

    Make sure all cables are tight . And use low loss splitters . Ask a cable guy for some .
     
  3. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    get good splitters.
     
  4. justhorsinaround

    justhorsinaround 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    6,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northerish Phoenix, Az
    It may be worth the cost of a service call to make sure you have a good signal level as it hits the house. Crappy signal level to begin with is not the way to start.
     
  5. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    go to radio shack and get a powered amplifier. Our TV signal when we moved in was horrible. When dad built the house he installed a bunch of splitters and put a hookup in every room of the house(sometimes more than one). I went and a got a powered amplifier at Radio shack and hooked up the most important connections to it (the inernet terminal, big screen tv connection, my room :wink1:, and the tv in the sitting room). The pictures instantly became perfect and the rest of the ones in the house also cleared up. We have a 42" Plasma TV with HD Digital cable running off of the powered amplifier, looks perfect.
     
  6. cegusman

    cegusman 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Posts:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston/Katy, Tx
    x2 we have 6 tv's + cable modem added the signal amp and everything cleaned up.
     
  7. garlicbreath

    garlicbreath 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Posts:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    I worked at ATT in Denver and Time warner here in NY and they both will GIVE you splitters and an amp. Should install them too. Crappy splitters and cable are a nightmare. Also, the good splitters are designed to be grounded. Have them make a service call, squirrels do MASSIVE amounts of damage to outside lines in a hurry. Also check to make sure they aren't using those wonderful gold plated push on cables. That was the first thing I looked for on service calls. Crappy cables, then crappy radio shack splitters, then signal strength to the house, then squirrel damage.
     

Share This Page