Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

CAD help

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by MNorby, Apr 11, 2006.

  1. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    I am trying to blueprint some stuff for work and keep having probs. Its been 4 or 5 years since I have messed with cad and it really shows. I have autocad 2006 and i learned on '02 if there is much change. Trying to draw a circle with a diameter of 74.5" and it keeps going soo big when I zoom all the way out it still takes up the whole screen. Are my dimentions set wrong or do i need to setup the page somehow.... I can't remember.
     
  2. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    I'm not great with autocad .. but as I remember all drawings were scaled. so for a 74.5" circle on screen you would wanna do like 7.45"

    I might be wrong though.
     
  3. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    you mean 74.5 right? I though I just hit circle, hit D for diameter and that works, I type in 74.5 and hit enter and it draws a circle but its huge and it's like I can't zoom out far enough to see it all.
     
  4. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    zoom all is your friend ;)
     
  5. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    can I just enter the number for inches to draw it to scale?
     
  6. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I'm afraid I have to know exactly what you're doing in order to precisely answer that question.

    What size sheet are you printing it onto?

    What exactly are you trying to accomplish with the drawing?

    Know how to calculate a scale factor?
     
  7. cybrfire

    cybrfire 1 ton status Vendor GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Posts:
    15,139
    Likes Received:
    565
    Location:
    Iowa
    Sounds like your paper space is too small. In the initial drawing set up your paper space should be set just larger than your planned drawing in the same unit of measure.
     
  8. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    basically I am drawing a huge propane tank saddle mount that I am going to build.I open CAD
    click to draw a circle
    type D for diameter
    type in 74.5 for the inches the tank is in diameter
     
  9. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    how do i set my drawing space larger and how can I tell it i am drawing in inches?
     
  10. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Alright, I don't have the program on this comp (kind of a memory thing for me) but IIRC type "limits" into the command line, and just set numbers larger than your overall drawing will end up being.
     
  11. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    It draws based on units. That's were scale factor comes into play. If you don't need to print it then it doesn't matter, if you do, then a little tweaking is required once you finish and get to layout. Kert undoubtedly uses this stuff every day so he probably remembers far better.
     
  12. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    like limits for height and width?
     
  13. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    yeah, idea is to draw it then dimention it then scale down and plot
     
  14. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    yep, if your drawing is going to be 74x74, when it asks, just type in like 100,100 or something like that
     
  15. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Tell ya what, set up the limits, draw, dimension, and then I'll do my best to guide you through the scaling and plotting. Like I said, I don't have it on this comp and it's sort of an automatic thing so I don't remember the exact commands.
     
  16. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    I think once I get it setup I can remember most. Took a class on it in 2002. I'll get started and get back on here...
     
  17. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    trying to draw something like this... Tank is X" radius and the stand (green) is 4' tall and 10' wide. I wanna dim out the curve I have to cut out of the 4x10 plate to fit the curve of the tank plus the 3/8" thick strap I will lay down that the tank will acually sit on in that curve

    I think I got my radius wrong because I can't remember the circumfrence of the tank off hand. Will have to get that from shop but I rmember it is around 10' diameter so could go off that so I cna figure out.

    tank.JPG
     
  18. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    this conversation would be 100% easier on irc!
     
  19. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    ...or msn or yahoo.....
    but this is one serious pad posing too......
     
  20. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    can i attach a cad drawing file....

    nope.

    Anyone wanna look at this and see what they think?
     

Share This Page