Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Caddy 500 swap????

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by k10clown, Dec 3, 2004.

  1. k10clown

    k10clown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warren, Michigan
    Has anyone tried swapping a Cadillac 500 cubic inch big block in a late 70's Chevy K10? I am thinking about doing this./forums/images/graemlins/screwy.gif I have been to the Maxium Torque Specialties web site and seen that they sell a swap kit for this kind of job. Just want to know if anyone else has done this and how hard is it to do. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  2. rodzzilla

    rodzzilla 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grinnell, IA
    There are a few members here that have done it. cybrfire is one that I can think of right off the bat. Also check out AK Fabshop. brook has put a caddy in his "Project Freek"
     
  3. boz42

    boz42 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Posts:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hopewell, Tn 38058
    i put a 500 in my rig i built custom mounts for mine, i believe cyberfire used engine plates for his. link to ck5 post w/ pics

    haven't got to wheel it yet, so i can't tell u about the performance end of it.
     
  4. dhdescender

    dhdescender 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada - Eh.
    I did it, didn't find it an overly hard swap, had to trim a little off flange on the firewall, use plates to move the motor back approx 4", and get a tranny adaptor.
     
  5. JDBlazer454

    JDBlazer454 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Posts:
    951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, Wa
    I've done it and now ksblaze83 owns it /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif Not a hard swap just do lots of research.....in fact do a search on Caddy, 472, 500, etc just on this forum and you will get lots of info. Check out www.500cid.com and of course you found Maxium Torque already /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     

Share This Page