Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Caddy motor guys temp sensor question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by MTBLAZER89, Sep 2, 2004.

  1. MTBLAZER89

    MTBLAZER89 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Posts:
    7,272
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Oak Harbor, WA
    Parts stores don't carry a temp sensor they said they just carry the switches for the idiot light. What part # did you use, or what will cross from a chevy motor? Thanks this is for the sensor at the front of the intake on a 71 472 motor.

    Thanks /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif
     
  2. boz42

    boz42 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Posts:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hopewell, Tn 38058
    i know it kinda got coverd in another post but i would just replace it w/ a one size fits all manuel gauge, most of them come w/ fittings to work on about anything.
     
  3. cybrfire

    cybrfire 1 ton status Vendor GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Posts:
    15,143
    Likes Received:
    573
    Location:
    Iowa
    I'd be willing to bet that the chevy one would fit or is adaptable.
     
  4. MTBLAZER89

    MTBLAZER89 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Posts:
    7,272
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Oak Harbor, WA
    There is a temp sensor in the block (stock) and another one from an aftermarket gauge, but it's wayyy to small /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  5. JDBlazer454

    JDBlazer454 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Posts:
    951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, Wa
    I had just used a stock 350 temp sending unit hooked to a guage, worked like a champ /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif Also 350 thermostats will work also, just a little tip I had to try it to prove the parts guys wrong /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    *edit* was an Equus guage....had to include that forgot.
     

Share This Page