Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Cadillac Engine Swap

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by BlkBlazer86, Aug 23, 2000.

1. BlkBlazer86

BlkBlazer86 Registered Member

I am new to the 4 x4 scene and I just bought a 86 Chevy K5 Blazer with a 350 engine and a 700R4 tranny and I am thinking of putting a Cadillac 512 or 530 engine in it and I was wondering first can I keep the 700R4 and second what other things will the swap require me to have.

Always Chevy Powered!!!!!!
    BlkBlazer86

2. I think you can buy bell housing adapters for BOP tranies to
    chevy bell housings.I dont think gm ever put a 700r4 on a
    BOP motor.BOP stands for Buick,Oldsmobile,Pontiac,which includes the caddy motors.Chevy uses its own style bell housing,all other gm v8 use one type.I dont know if they put
    a 700r4 in the early 80's caddies or not if so you could use one of these.I'll try and check into it for you.
    I think they have info on these cars on the B-Body web site.
    Hope this helps,happy trails.

IF IT AINT BIG IT AINT BAD!!!!!!

3. Jeff427

Jeff427 1/2 ton status

You can get an adapter, if you need it, some 700R4 trannies have both Chevy and BOP bolt patterns. I believe the diesel has the same bell houseing pattern as the BOP, someone correct me if I'm wrong. I think you need to change your sig to <font color=red>Always Cadillac Powered!!!!!!</font color=red> [​IMG]

Jeff427
    <font color=red>Mud Dog Off Road Club</font color=red>
    http://muddogoffroad.coloradok5.com

4. talldogg

talldogg 1/2 ton status

5. BlkBlazer86

BlkBlazer86 Registered Member