Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

cage in the making, questions.

Discussion in 'Center Of Gravity' started by Seventy4Blazer, Nov 8, 2003.

1. Seventy4Blazer

Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

if this is the wrong forum, im sorry. like the rest of us i am still learning what can and cant go here for sure

the idea is a inner floor made of 2x4 3/16ths wall. 4 sections in the "bed" of the blazer. 3 more in the "Cab" of the blazer. all 7 going across the truck. then 4 more going from front to back. kind of like a grid. the bed section and cab section would be connected with mitered and fit 2x4 stock as well. the cage would be built on this. including the dash, seats, fuel cell, spare tire, tool box, spare parts. the inner roll cage would tie into the body at the body mounts with rubber bushings. the frame ties into the body with polly bushings. i have stiffened up the frame a bit with braces and what not. the rockers in the body are 4x6 .25 wall tube they will be tied into the roll cage with rubber as well.

reasons for doing it this way are as follows
    i like the looks of my blazer. im not about to remove the body fully. some day, but not till its trashed.

this way, once the body is trashed i can remove it and then install the cage on the frame with very few mods, or a new frame.

i think it will firm up the body and frame to the point that i am happy with it.

when the body is totaled, if i desire i can find another body and swap the cage in as it is all bolt in, for the most part(cage will be welded, but its a 74. unbolt the cage from the body, re install it in new....

i dont see any drawbacks, but im sure there are some.
    let me know what you think. and im sorry if this is the wrong area.
    Grant

2. tRustyK5