Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Cage question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by cegusman, Nov 16, 2005.

  1. cegusman

    cegusman 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Posts:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston/Katy, Tx
    What is the minimum cage to head clearence I should try and achive.
    Here is an old pic of the unfinished cage, the area in question is circled.
    [​IMG]
    I am mounting a set of Corbeau Baja SS seats
    [​IMG]
    I have about 3" clerence should this be enough? I am 6.2'
     
  2. 79chevyk10

    79chevyk10 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Posts:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Coast
  3. 2Dogs

    2Dogs 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ca
    Will you be mounting those seats on the stock frames or building your own seat mount frame/tube?

    Mounting those on the stock setup should give you more than enough clearance.

    Is there an issue about testing the heights?
     
  4. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    That the whole reason I cut my top off. I am about the same height as you and with a interior cage the bar would be right next to my head.
    My new cage has the bar at about where the stock top used to be. It is probably 6" away from my head at the closest spot.
     
  5. cegusman

    cegusman 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Posts:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston/Katy, Tx
    I built my seat mounts into the cage and after test mounting the seats I only have about 3" clearence. Thinking on the trail bouncing around I might be hitting my head. I have a friend who is 6.7' and he had about 1/2" clearence before I lowered it about a 1/2". I will look at it some more today and see if I can do any thing else to fix it.
     
  6. 2Dogs

    2Dogs 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ca
    I am 6'1, just had new seats mounted to the cage and it sounds like I have less clearance than you (can provide pics). I would not feel safe without the seatbelt on but thats not an issue for me anyway. I try to stretch in the direction of the tube with the belt on and I can't reach the tube. I hope this would also be the case in an accident but I would feel better with a harness. After wheeling abit and getting bounced around I have never encountered the cage.... I still plan on putting real roll bar foam tubing - do you know a vendor for that?
     
  7. Leper

    Leper 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Posts:
    4,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas Baby!!!!
    Depends on how tight you keep your seatbelts/harness. You are going with a harness right.?.
     
  8. cegusman

    cegusman 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Posts:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston/Katy, Tx
  9. cegusman

    cegusman 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Posts:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston/Katy, Tx
    Yes I will be using Corbau's 3 point harness
     
  10. PsychoticDeadGuy

    PsychoticDeadGuy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Posts:
    753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fairfield, California
    with a regular seat belt, you WILL bounce around more than 3". when i go with a cage I will be using 5 point harnesses. I dont trust the factory belts anyways.
     

Share This Page