Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Calling all painters

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by scoutillac, Jun 12, 2004.

1. scoutillac

scoutillac 1/2 ton status

I am in the research process of repainting my burban. What kind of primer and paint do you recommend? Keep in mind I'm a rookie painter. I will practice on my trailer( so it matches). I want it to look as professional as possible. The wife and I are thinking a solid midnight blue. All the chrome will be canned. I will probably detail underneath with the same blue and black. What chrome there is will be minimal( bumpers and door handles).

2. ryoken

ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

make sure you use an epoxy primer and urethane paint. if going metallic, use basecoat/clearcoat. solid colors, a single stage paint is fine..

lot of good paints out there, check with your local autobody supply place to see what brands they carry..

PPG makes nice stuff.. i'm partial to Glasurit myself, but its a tad pricey, best paint you can buy tho....

PM me if ya need some pointers... /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

3. cuervo

cuervo Wears Boob Goggles! Premium Member

Just one pointer.

If you want this to turn out right, spend more time on the preparation of the metal /forums/images/graemlins/grind.gif then anything else.

I've seen so many times were people think paint will hide defects in the metal work. If anything, it ALWAYS magnifies them by a factor of 10! If you can see it with your eyes or feel it with your hands then it will look ten times worse once you put paint on it.