Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

calling all those using a quadrajet on your rig with the 700r4!

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by NEK5, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. NEK5

    NEK5 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    9,834
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Ipswich MA
    Did you need an adapter to mount the TV cable on the throttle arm, or will the stud for the kick down cable work?
     
  2. toomany

    toomany 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Auburn, MI
    I've got a q-jet/700R4 in one of my Camaros...I don't recal exactly how it hooks to the throttle arm. But I want to say I hooked it to the stud for the kickdown. I know that carb had a Th350 cable on it originaly.

    I think the bigger issue is that you have the correct bracket and have the cable correctly.
     
  3. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,583
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    lots of qjet carbs have holes on the arm to add the stud for other options.
     
  4. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Messages:
    8,472
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    I guess I don't understand the question because a lot of trucks came with Quadrajet and 700R4. Here's a pic of the carb that was on my truck with the 700 trans:

    [​IMG]

    Here is the linkage diagram - bottom left is Quadrajet

    [​IMG]

    The TV cable goes on the stud in the back. The "hole" is for the throttle return spring. The long black stud is for cruise control. Of course the top one is the throttle cable.
     
  5. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Messages:
    8,472
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    I think I have the bracket that mounts to the intake manifold somewhere. It connects the TV cable, throttle cable and spring. Do you need this part?
     
  6. bigbadchev84

    bigbadchev84 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hermiston, Oregon
  7. NEK5

    NEK5 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    9,834
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Ipswich MA
    Here's what I'm working with. I got this carb from phreddei16 here on CK5, and I'm pretty sure it was for an older rig, ie TH350 or 400. I have the right bracket for the cables that mounts to the back two bolts on the carb, which I believe is actually a TCI piece.

    pics! don't mind the throttle cable not hooked up, it was, but i lost the stupid clip :crazy:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    16,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    That last pic shows the TV cable hooked to the right spot . Now adjust it and your set .

    There are 4 things that can hook to the linkage :

    1. TV cable on the stud with NO clip slot , like yours is attached .

    2. throttle cable on the short stud with clip slot

    3. cruise control cable on the LONG black bolt on stud with clip slot .

    4. springs from rear of intake to hole with plastic bushing . NO front of intake for quadrajet return springs .
     
  9. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Messages:
    8,472
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    I don't see any problem with what you have, as long as you can get the TV cable adjusted right.

    If you look at the diagram I posted above, it shows the critical TV geometry. Just measure what you have...
     

Share This Page