Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

cam swap

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by big dan, Jul 21, 2006.

1. big dan

big dan 1/2 ton status Premium Member

Im fixing to do a cam swap in my truck and have a question. I am not very good at setting the time and do not have a timing light. so my question is if I pull the old cam straight out and install the new cam in the same position and install everything else such as timing chain and distributor the same way it came out, would my timing be set?

2. 4X4HIGH

4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

Cam timing is different than static timing. Cam timing is done by lining up the dots on the cam and crank gear, static timing is done with a timing light. Before you start taking it apart put it on TDC #6 cylinder. This will allow both timing marks on the cam and crank gears to be pointing at each other and makes it easy to hook the chain and gears up properly. Before anyone says i'm wrong about TDC #6 cylinder that is how the gears are aligned to make it easy but once the engine is turned over 1 revolution then it is on #1 cylinder TDC.

3. SchnorrCS

SchnorrCS 1/2 ton status

Not a good idea....
    do this:
    1) Pull number 1 plug (Drivers side front)
    2) Take off distributor cap
    3) Put thumb over plug hole
    4) Have friend "bump ignition until your finger gets blown off hole.
    5) look at distibutor. It should be at 7 oclock. Not 1

Then just use a big socket on the crank pulley and a breaker bar to move the engine. Theres a timing mark machined into the harmonic balancer, just line it up with the 0 on the timing indicator, and you are now at top dead center!

4. beater_k20

beater_k20 Banned