Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Camper Towing questions

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by gstuck3, Feb 21, 2006.

1. gstuck3

gstuck3 Registered Member

I,m in the market for a small camper trailer and would like a little advice on towing and I'm not sure of my truck's towing capacity I have found an 18ft. trailer that weighs about 3700lbs. dry. I figured it should weigh 5000lbs or less full. I have a 74 Jimmy, 350 / 350 / 203 / d44 / 12b / 4.10 gears / 35" BFG's / 4" Shackle flip. 94ish k miles and trany rebuilt about 30k miles ago. I hate to ask what might just be a stupid question, but I'm new to the R.V. game and don't have much trailer towing knowledge. I did a search but couldn't find the info I was looking for. It will be towed up some hills and through the desert. (on dirt roads of course) ***edit: also I have a remote fan tranny cooler and new rear brake drums and shoes.

Thanks

George

Last edited: Feb 21, 2006
  2. 1-ton

1-ton 1/2 ton status Premium Member

5,000 pounds would be really pushing it with a Blazer. I am sure a Blazer could tow 3,000 with out much trouble, but 5,000 is a lot.

3. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

I used to tow our 21 foot trailer with my K5. At the time it had a 350, SM465, D44/14 bolt with 3.73's, 4" lift with blocks in the rear and 35 x 12.5's on it. Our trailer is 30 years old and the dry weight is about 4500-4700lbs...prolly 5200+ with our stuff in it. I towed that thing all through the mountains here as well as down to Huntington beach and back. Never had any trouble with it, but i did run a weight distributing hitch, 500 lb bars, and used a Teshonka brake controller.