Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

can a GPS be used to be to tell accurate speed?

Discussion in 'Communication (CB | GPS | HAM)' started by juanblzer, Jun 21, 2004.

  1. juanblzer

    juanblzer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Posts:
    1,614
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    I don't have a speedo but I should probably have one for my upcoming interstate trip. I want to buy a GPS but I am wondering if the speed it says you are traveling at: is actually somewhat accurate.
    juan
     
  2. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    It's only accurate to about one TENTH of a MPH. /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif I use mine to check the accuracy of my speedos. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  3. gjk5

    gjk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Posts:
    5,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Junction, CO
    I have never seen a difference in my speedo and the reading on my GPS, so yes.

    Don't know if you've ever owned a GPS, but do some research, prices and functions vary greatly.
     
  4. jarheadk5

    jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    4,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    As long as the GPS unit is receiving a good saellite signal , it'll give you about the most accurate speed indication you can get.
     
  5. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    I don't know how the signal strength is back east, but here in Colorado I've never seen fewer than 6 satellites available at one time on my Magellan GPS 315, even when mounted up on the dash. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif It often shows 6 or 7 with plenty of signal available. /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif
     
  6. jayweb

    jayweb 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Posts:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    why not get one of those new gps speedos from nordskog (like they use on offshore powerboats)?
     
  7. jarheadk5

    jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    4,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Depends where I'm at. I can usually get 4 sats in my driveway, and never less than 5 sats in the park. Driving around the backroads in Jersey though is another story. Some of these roads have triple-canopy-jungle-type overhangs, and the signal just can't punch through...

    When I was on the summit at Pila in the Italian Alps (8600ft), I had 10 sats with full signal bars - accuracy was 3 feet!
     

Share This Page