Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Can Back top for our trucks is a NO GO

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by BobK, Nov 7, 2001.

1. BobK

BobK 1/2 ton status

Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,
    I went to Can Back today to see thier "so called" 1st gen. soft top.1st I get there to discover the guy I have been e-mailing for the last 6 months no longer is with the company!2nd they have NO top developed for our Blazers.

They have done 3 soft tops for individuals with 1st gen. Blazers but they were "one offs" and those guys paid almost 3 grand for them.Each one was different too.

They stated that they have been WAY too busy to even try and develope a producable top for the 1st gen.'s.I did see one they are working on for a guy.From the back of the front seats on back is basically what they have for the 2nd gen 1/2 top Blazers.

They had made a one piece frame that goes over the front seats.The problem is that it was not a convertable design.It was either on the truck or off the truck.If you wanted to go topless you"d phyically have to take the frame off the truck.They were utilizing the factory bolt locations though(on the windshield only).

Another big thing was the size.It was all one piece and shipping would not be cost effective,they'd have to send it truck frieght!Oh yea...I asked but they wouldn't let me take a picture of the one I saw.

They said maybe in a year they "might " have something for us 1st gen's,I'm not holding my breath though!

What kinda ticks me off is how they kept stringing me along "check back with us is a couple weeks","e-mail me again in Sept./Oct.","should have somthing pretty soon".I don't like being toyed with!