Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Can I wire my alarm to honk the horn instead of a siren?

Discussion in 'Audio' started by zcarczar, Oct 31, 2002.

  1. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    Would anybody know how i could go about doing this? Those stupid sirens bug the heck out of me.
    Thanks
     
  2. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Thats the whole point, the sirens is suposta bug the heck out of you. I wouldn't change the way it is designed to work.
     
  3. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    well yeah i know, but all you have to do to disable the siren is pop the hood and cut the wires, but if you wire it to the horn its going to take a lot more than just poppin the hood and cuttin the wires going to the siren.
     
  4. ds350

    ds350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Posts:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    It would be fairly easy to cut the wires on the horn as well....
    To make them work with your alarm, you will need to use a relay. The output of the alarm can be used as a switch to operate the relay.....good luck!
    /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  5. Prembird

    Prembird 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Posts:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    kc, mo.
    or he could just buy a battery backup siren.. this way if they cut the wires it still keeps blaring away..
     
  6. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    Prembird, where might i get one of those? and how would i wire it up to the relay, i forgot the correct inputs.
     
  7. Prembird

    Prembird 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Posts:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    kc, mo.
    anyplace that sells car alarms will have then.. basically you just put it in place of the siren that came with your alarm.. if the alarm gets set off then the siren goes off.. if they pop the hood and cut the wires it still goes off... now the down side is that if you disconnect it then it will go off since it no longer senses power coming from the alarm brain... so if someone crawls up under it and cuts it it will automatically start going off...
     
  8. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    Alright, so if i ever need to disconect my battery its going to go off for a long time? Is there anyway i can pop out the battery when I dont want it going off?
     
  9. Prembird

    Prembird 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Posts:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    kc, mo.
    you will need to check with the manufacturer if there is a way to shut it off.. otherwise... just shove a sock in it and the battery will last about 30 min. or so...
     
  10. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Yeah it can be done with a relay and Turnsignal flasher (to make it beep on and off and not continuous. You can also make the lights blink the same way if the alarm doesn't have the provision.
     
  11. BozoWise

    BozoWise 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    A pulse timer would also work for the horn.

    If you want a battery backup siren give me a shout I think I have some instock right now, but I'll have to check.
     
  12. BrianDamage

    BrianDamage 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Posts:
    753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    of course, they could always pop the hood and cut the horns wires, or pull them off of the horn contacts
     

Share This Page