Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Can someone help? Part # reference needed(need amps) for this one**UPDATED*

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by jakeslim, Feb 18, 2004.

  1. jakeslim

    jakeslim 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Posts:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napa, CA
    Update-ok, went back to kragen and had all kinds of alt on the counter, but i ended up keeping the one in question. BUT, this part# does come up in Autozone as cross-reference Beck/arnely part # 186-6065.....SO, Problem is that there is still no amps listed /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif. I WAS able to find a Beck/Arnley alternator part # 1866064 that is 108 amps......so would part # 1866065 be the same or more??? (end of update)*** /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif





    I just picked up an alternator from Kragen auto and I am not sure what amps are on it. The part # is 729012. I am hoping it is higher than the stock 63amps everyone has.

    I was asking for a diesel alt so that I could get high amps at the "much" cheaper price

    Any help is welcome...
    /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
    /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gifthanks
     
  2. jakeslim

    jakeslim 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Posts:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napa, CA
    Re: Can someone help? Part # reference needed(need amps) for this one

    ttt /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  3. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Re: Can someone help? Part # reference needed(need amps) for this one

    Amp rating is stamped on the alt.

    Parts guy should have told you or gone to a catalog to find out.

    Stock for an AC truck is 78 amps.
     
  4. jakeslim

    jakeslim 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Posts:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napa, CA
    Re: Can someone help? Part # reference needed(need amps) for this one

    they could not look it up without a vehicle. It is NOT stamped on the body of the alternator, we looked. It looks much more "heavy duty" than the 63 amp though, i just don't know what I have. Why did I buy it? because i like to gamble and the $85 price was nice too.
     
  5. jakeslim

    jakeslim 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Posts:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napa, CA
    Re: Can someone help? Part # reference needed(need amps) for this one

    ok, i've tried to find this alternator by looking up tons of different vehicle combinations in the early 80's and can't find it. I am tired /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif

    /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     
  6. BobK

    BobK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,
    Re: Can someone help? Part # reference needed(need amps) for this one

    Take it back to where you got it and tell them to put it on the machine.They can check the amp output then.
     
  7. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Re: Can someone help? Part # reference needed(need amps) for this one

    [ QUOTE ]
    Take it back to where you got it and tell them to put it on the machine.They can check the amp output then.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    You can't pull 100 amps from an alternator on a bench. It tests volts not amps.

    Maybe an electrical shop.
     
  8. JIM88K5

    JIM88K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2001
    Posts:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, Wa
    Re: Can someone help? Part # reference needed(need amps) for this one

    Kragen sold you an alternator and the cant tell you how many amps it is ? I'd be shopping for a new parts store...
     
  9. bablazer73

    bablazer73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2000
    Posts:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate ny
    Re: Can someone help? Part # reference needed(need amps) for this one

    [ QUOTE ]
    Quote:
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Take it back to where you got it and tell them to put it on the machine.They can check the amp output then.


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------



    You can't pull 100 amps from an alternator on a bench. It tests volts not amps.

    [/ QUOTE ]
    Most rebuild shops can bench test them. And test amps. Mine does anyways. They bench tested my alternater at 163 amps.
     
  10. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,978
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Re: Can someone help? Part # reference needed(need amps) for this one

    I don't know about all remanufacturers, but *most* rebuilt alternators I've seen do not have the amperage cast into the case.

    I'm not sure if they are ground off (I've seen some that don't appear to have been) or just use cases that were leftover from original producation, but it seems common.

    I don't think I'd fault the remanufacturer for not stamping it into the alternator, they could just as easily swap out the internals on rebuild so you STILL wouldn't know for sure if it were stamped.
     
  11. jakeslim

    jakeslim 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Posts:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napa, CA
    Re: Can someone help? Part # reference needed(need amps) for this one

    Well i was able to "spot" what appeared to be a "70a" on the front, but I as mentioned, it is not clear, kinda like they used the case for the rebuild. Either way, I can get the 108 amps(confirmed) for 95 bucks so I will probably trade for that one. Geez, all i want is some AMPS /forums/images/graemlins/woot.gif
     
  12. jakeslim

    jakeslim 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Posts:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napa, CA
    Re: Can someone help? Part # reference needed(need amps) for this one

    TTT-see update in first post-need some more help and discovered some stuff.
     
  13. jakeslim

    jakeslim 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Posts:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napa, CA
    Re: Can someone help? Part # reference needed(need amps) for this one

    geez, i got it (as i post to myself). Napa online has all the numbes and amps. It is either 108 or 120 amps confirmed so I got it for $89. I think that is an ok deal. Now I just got to install and get my core charge back. May get it tested at an electrical shop since all the local "kragens" can't test for amps. Sure hope its the 120
     

Share This Page