Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

can you swap out a 366 with a 350

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by DesertDueler2, Jan 2, 2006.

  1. DesertDueler2

    DesertDueler2 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Posts:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    My buddy has a medium duty truck with a 366ci and it is on its last leg. Does the 366 share the same bolt patterns and the SBC or BBC? Basicly can you just drop it in, or is tere fabriction involved. Also it is a manual, so would the flywheel be big enough for the medium duty transmission?

    Dan
     
  2. 55Willy

    55Willy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2001
    Posts:
    9,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Keizer, Or
    a 366 is the same family as a 427 tall deck truck block.

    so a 396 427 or 454 would be an easier swap since all the same mounts and hook ups would swap. and the flywheel too.
     
  3. POWERMAD

    POWERMAD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    366,396.427 are internaly balanced.
    A 454 will need an externaly balanced flywheel.
     
  4. DesertDueler2

    DesertDueler2 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Posts:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    Well he has a 454 laying around as well, so I guess that is what can go in it.

    Dan
     
  5. 55Willy

    55Willy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2001
    Posts:
    9,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Keizer, Or
    I almost wrote it but I couldn't remember if it was or not, figured someone would correct me,LOL

    [hijack]..what ya been up to ron?? [/hijack]
     

Share This Page