Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Can't get any radio stations...

Discussion in 'Audio' started by Bullet, May 20, 2003.

  1. Bullet

    Bullet 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Posts:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Abilene, Texas
    Can\'t get any radio stations...

    Ever since my blazer was in the paint booth; where they unscrewed the antenna, I can't get a single radio staion clearly. Whats the deal? /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
     
  2. rebelk5frk

    rebelk5frk 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Posts:
    815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Re: Can\'t get any radio stations...

    sounds like you answered your own question to me.... /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    "They unscrewed the antenna"

    They probably didn't put it back on.
     
  3. Bullet

    Bullet 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Posts:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Abilene, Texas
    Re: Can\'t get any radio stations...

    um, yeah...

    The antenna is still there...

    They unscrewed it so it will fit in the paint booth and they put it back on /forums/images/graemlins/deal.gif
     
  4. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    Re: Can\'t get any radio stations...

    did u check to make sure by some freak of nature the antenae plug didnt fall out of the back of your radio? Are you sure the antenae is on right? its not like crossthreaded and down all the way or something?
     
  5. rebelk5frk

    rebelk5frk 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Posts:
    815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Re: Can\'t get any radio stations...

    [ QUOTE ]
    They unscrewed it so it will fit in the paint booth and they put it back on

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I thought they might have taken all the way off the fender and might not have reconnected the cable on the underside.

    Like K20 said.... double check your connections to the radio and if you can reach it..the antenna. If the cable seems ok then if you have a multimeter check to make sure the antenna isn't grounded out.

    Put a lead on the antenna mast and the other lead on the body and see what the resistance is. If it's near zero then they probably screwed up when they reinstalled the antenna.

    That's why I'm glad I have the windsheild antenna on mine.... one less thing to get knocked off the body. /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif
     
  6. Panther

    Panther 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2000
    Posts:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Re: Can\'t get any radio stations...

    They probably forgot the mask off the antenna area and now there's no connection between the plug in the fender and the actual antenna.

    Or it could just be unplugged from the back of the radio /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif .
     
  7. Bullet

    Bullet 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Posts:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Abilene, Texas
    Re: Can\'t get any radio stations...

    Well, busted out the ol' wire wheel and got any excess off the threads of the antenna but still no radio stations. Looks like I'll check the back of the radio connection next /forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif
     

Share This Page