Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Car 12 bolt in truck

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by MT wheeler, Nov 14, 2005.

1. MT wheeler

MT wheeler 1/2 ton status

Newbie here and was looking for information on 12 bolts. I tried searching and didn't come up with what I wanted. Maybe I searched wrong, I don't know. What I am after is, has anyone installed a car 12 bolt in their truck? :confused: I am looking to put in a car 12 bolt because of the gear selection available and it also has a larger pinion diameter for more strength. Which cars had the same or close wms-wms as the full size trucks? :dunno: Any info is greatly appreciated.

2. guido666

guido666 1/2 ton status

Cars are too narrow if I remember.

There shouldn't really be much difference in parts availablility.

3. steve_kibbe

steve_kibbe 1/2 ton status

might want to consider wheel bolt pattern too :o

I'd just buy a 14sf or 14bff and forget a 12 bolt :D

4. pauly383

pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

They are harder to find , if original , would fetch pretty penny on E-bay . Use the money from sale to buy gears and such for a truck axle .

What you could do , if you had money to burn , and wanted to be different , is an aftermarket 12 bolt , Moser makes new car housings , added to truck width tubes :D

5. MT wheeler

This is kinda what I was thinking. Correct me if I am wrong but truck gear ratios are only available to 4.56 and car ratio has a much better selectio. I am trying to stick with the 12 bolt for the ground clearence, weight, and wheel issues. I was under the impression that 12 bolt axles are 12 bolt axles so I was thinking I could slide my truck axles into a car housing if I found the correct one (impala maybe?).

6. guido666

guido666 1/2 ton status