Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Car Audio Question

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Resurrection_Joe, Dec 1, 2006.

  1. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    My bro has a problem with his system

    When he turns up his deck to a certain level, it cuts out and loses power, turning off

    Any ideas?
     
  2. 73k5blazer

    73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    The Rustbelt
    Is he using amps? How long before it goes out, like instantly, or will it play load for a while and then shut off?
    I would first suspect poor grounds and/or feed wire/connections for power to the deck, if no amps are in the system, or to the amps if amps are used.
     
  3. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    When I first got into the "big" car stereo systems I had a amp that was only 2 ohm stable and wired my subs down to 1 ohm. That caused the amp too shut down (go into protection) when I turned it up. Not saying that’s your buddy’s problem, but something too be aware of. Now I buy amps that are at least 1 ohm stable. Would like too be ¼ ohm stable, but 1 ohm stable works fine for my needs.
     
  4. Leper

    Leper 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Posts:
    4,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas Baby!!!!
    What shuts off? The sound? The head unit? The amps? When "it" shuts off, do any of its lights stay on? Does it come back on by itself.Is the head unit pwering any speakers or just sending a signal to the amps. It could be anything from a loose connection, to a bad ground, to a too small of power/ground wire. More details please.
     
  5. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    Just the deck goes off, apparently. We just put a nice amp and two 12" subs in, but it was doing the same thing before the amp and sub install, so I can rule that out.

    The deck goes off, completely, the signal just doesn't stop.

    He ran a new ground straight to the battery....
     
  6. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Maybe just new head unit time , or if still new enough , send it back . Or sell it on Ebay as parts only radio .

    Its either head unit internally , or external wiring .
     
  7. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    I'll take it out and wire it back in properly. See if that helps.
     
  8. Leper

    Leper 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Posts:
    4,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas Baby!!!!
    If the head unit lights are going out and the sound is still coming through, I would assume you have a detachable face or a flip face radio. Common problem, but probably not one that you can fix yourself. If it is a detach/flip and it has contacts between the face and the radio you can try cleaning them with a pencil eraser. On a detach face sometimes a little piece of paper wedged in between the two can make the contact better.
     
  9. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    The whole head unit loses power and has to be turned back on
     

Share This Page